Coronavirus: here is the list of countries that will be allowed to enter the EU in July

0 683

Coronavirus: here is the list of countries that will be allowed to enter the EU in July

Locked in a meeting room in Brussels, European officials are debating who will be allowed to enter the EU on July 1, the date scheduled for the opening of the Union's international borders, and who will be prevented from doing so.

There are two lists, one for those who will be accepted and one for those who will not.

The latest has already sparked controversy after sources revealed that the United States - the country most affected by the Covid-19 with more than 2,4 million cases - was included.

European officials yesterday failed to make a decision on which countries will be barred from entry after the EU's external borders are opened. A European diplomat told Euronews that officials " did not reach an agreement And that discussions will continue until Friday.

Euronews has obtained from diplomatic sources within the EU the complete draft list of countries for which the borders of Europe will be open. We are able to confirm what we wrote on Wednesday, namely that Brazil, Qatar, the United States and Russia are not currently on the list of authorized countries.

According to our sources, the date for reopening the borders, set for July 1, is also pending, which suggests that the agreements will not be concluded on time.

The countries whose nationals will be allowed to enter Europe, according to the draft list, are the following:

  • Vatican City
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Andorra
  • Serbia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Ukraine
  • in Albania
  • Turkey
  • Kosovo
  • Democratic People's Republic of Korea
  • Turkmenistan
  • Vietnam
  • China
  • Thailand
  • Myanmar
  • Mongolia
  • Japan
  • South Korea
  • Georgia
  • Bhutan
  • Lebanon
  • Indonesia
  • Uzbekistan
  • India
  • Tajikistan
  • Kazakhstan
  • palau
  • New Zealand
  • Australia
  • Dominica
  • Bahamas
  • Saint Lucia
  • Uruguay
  • Jamaica
  • Cuba
  • Guyana
  • Paraguay
  • Venezuela
  • Nicaragua
  • Costa Rica
  • Canada
  • Angola
  • Tunisia
  • Namibia
  • Uganda
  • Mozambique
  • Mauritius
  • Zambia
  • Rwanda
  • Ethiopia
  • Morocco
  • Algeria
  • Egypt

Diplomatic sources also suggest to Euronews that there is disagreement between member states on the criteria to be used for this decision, with some saying that the data on Covid-19 contamination rates are not reliable. They asked ECDC, the European agency for disease prevention, to provide more details, adding that these two lists will be revised every two weeks.

When the EU guidelines were released two weeks ago, officials said the list would take into account the infection rate in the countries concerned. The criteria are based on epidemiological data and, at the time, we learned that 47 countries were on the list of authorized countries and 54 on the list of prohibited countries. According to our source in Brussels on Thursday, there are now 54 countries on the list of authorized countries, and it is clear that these figures may continue to change.

Which list is the UK on?

Any. According to the European Commission, UK nationals still need to be treated the same as EU citizens until the end of the post-Brexit transition period, set for December 31, 2020.

This article appeared first on: eu-in-july

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.